My DCP Goals

Many other Disney College Program participants have created a “Disney Bucket List” for themselves, where they list everything they want to do while in the parks.

I don’t really want to do that. I’ll know what I want to do in the parks when I get there. Rather, I want to set a variety of goals for myself to try to accomplish during my time in the Sunshine State.

1. Keep a journal.

As recommended by my friend Claire, who recently spent an entire month in Kenya, keeping a journal would be the easiest way to record my memories. Writing in a blog helps, but only if I post every day. After my program, I want to be able to pull out my journal and read about my daily adventures in the most magical place on Earth. Whether I write in it every single day or every other day, I am determined to keep up with one.

2. Take care of myself when I become homesick.

Everyone and their mother knows that I am the biggest homebody to ever walk the planet. Saying goodbye to my parents in just a few days is going to be very hard on me. That being said, I want to set a goal to engage in self-care when I get homesick. I’ll FaceTime my family when I miss them. I’ll spend a day in the parks or relaxing in my apartment watching Netflix. I’ll go buy myself a treat. No matter what, I want to ensure I have the best time at Walt Disney World.

3. Don’t stress.

No one said that balancing two online classes on top of a 40+ hour work week would be easy. I need to understand that while making good grades is important, I also need to care about my wellbeing. I hope to

4. Maintain my relationship with God.

A lot of times, especially during times of stress and intensity, it is hard to remember to lean on our Lord above. Isaiah 41:10 says, “So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” I know that the road ahead of me will be difficult. However, I also know that God will be with me every step of the way; He knows what I can handle, and He knows just how to push me to my limits.

5. Make lifelong friendships.

Need I say more?

 

Leave a Reply

