Welcome to My Blog!

Hello, everyone! This is my very first time to run a blog, so I may seem a bit rusty at first. However, I cannot wait to start blogging about my adventures at one of the most magical places on Earth!

Now, a bit of background. I’ve been a fan of Disney all of my life. I have a giant stuffed Winnie the Pooh that I used to carry around and watch The Many Adventures of Winnie the Pooh with. I have vivid memories of skipping to my parents’ bedroom with a Disney VHS in hand, slipping the cassette into the VCR and laying on their bed with a blanket. I first went to Walt Disney World when I was four-years-old. At the time, I was obsessed with Minnie Mouse, so much that when I first laid eyes on her, I took off at a sprint, cutting in front of the entire line to give her a hug.

550785_451745224843425_187182094_n

Four-year-old me trying to contain my excitement when meeting my childhood hero.

The next time I visited the theme park was in middle school. By that point, my brothers had been born, and I think they were a little bit more excited than me. But of course, the minute I stepped through the gates I was four again, skipping through the parks and taking pictures with all the characters.

The last time I was at Walt Disney World was my freshman year of high school. I had the chance to go with my drill team, the Forney Highsteppers. That time, my grandmother went to the parks for the very first time. She absolutely loved it! I loved being able to experience the parks with her, as well as my friends.

254929_222090094486177_7155505_n

My friends and I saying hello to the Mouse himself!

It was around that time that I first heard about the Disney College Program. I knew instantly that I wanted to do it once I went to college. I researched it, learned everything that I could about the program before I was ready to apply the second semester of my freshman year. Unfortunately, I did not get in. The next time I applied was the following semester, during which I applied with a friend. I was not accepted that time either. After that, I sort of decided maybe it wasn’t meant to be.

I waited until Fall 2016 to apply again; this application was definitely “on a whim.” I completely forgot that I had even applied until I got that “Congratulations!” email on September 29th. I just happened to check my email between classes, and I almost screamed when I saw it. Finally, my dreams would come true! I was accepted as a Merchandise Cast Member, and I would be working at Walt Disney World for an entire semester!

This journey will be difficult. On top of being over 1,000 miles away from my family, I am taking a couple of online classes, one of which is a rushed eight-week course. I will also be taking a class through the program itself. All of this I have to balance on top of a 40+ hour work week. However, I am determined to finish my classes with all A’s while having fun in the parks and making lifelong friends and memories. Let’s see where this journey takes me!

Leave a Reply

